Two Democrats, Three Republicans Join Senate Banking Committee for 117th Congress

Feb 8, 2021Congressional Legislation, News

The Senate Banking Committee began the 117th Congress with the addition of five new members, including two Democrats and three Republicans. With the change in control of the chamber, Senator Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) becomes chair of the committee and Senator Pat Toomey (R-Pa.) will serve as the ranking member.

The new Republicans joining the committee are Senators Steve Daines of Montana, Bill Hagerty of Tennessee, and Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming. Daines was first elected to Congress in 2014, while Hagerty and Lummis were elected to their first terms this past November.

The committee also welcomed two new Democratic Senators, Jon Ossoff and Raphael Warnock, both of whom were elected in Georgia’s January runoff election. Ossoff defeated Senator David Perdue (R-Ga.), who had a seat on the committee in the last Congress.

For the upcoming Congress, Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.) will chair the Banking Committee’s Economic Policy Subcommittee and Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.) will be ranking member. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) will chair the Financial Institutions and Consumer Protection Subcommittee and Tim Scott (R-S.C.) will serve as ranking member. Robert Menendez (D-N.J.) will chair the Housing, Transportation, and Community Development Subcommittee and Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) will serve as ranking member. Mark Warner (D-Va.) will be chairman and  Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) will serve as ranking member of the National Security and International Trade and Finance Subcommittee. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) will be chairman of the Securities, Insurance, and Investment Subcommittee and Patrick Toomey (R-Pa.) will be ranking member.

For a full list of subcommittee membership, click here.

Pin It on Pinterest